Patti Smith Announces New Album And Dates

Patti Smith has announced full details of her new studio album, which is to be titled Banga.

Banga will be the Punk singer's tenth album and is set for release on June the 4th in the UK and June the 5th in the United States. The album is Smith's first release since her 2007 covers record Twelve, and her first record of original material since 2004's Trampin.

Banga was recorded at Electric Lady Studios in New York City and was produced by Smith and her backing band of Tony Shanahan, Jay Dee Daugherty and Lenny Kaye. Television frontman, Tom Verlaine, and the Smith's son Jackson and daughter Jesse Paris also appear as guests on the album.

As a tribute to the late Amy Winehouse, the album's fourth track This Is The Girl was written for her, while the second track Fuji-san was composed for the people of Japan in the wake of last year’s earthquake. Track, Nine is also apparently a birthday song for movie star, Johnny Deep.

Meanwhile, Patti Smith will be playing three UK shows this summer to coincide with the release of Banga. She is set to headline Wolverhampton's Wulfrun Hall on June 25th, Cardiff Coal Exchange on June 26th and Bath Forum on June 28th.

The track listing:

  • Amerigo
  • Fuji-san
  • April Fool
  • This Is The Girl
  • Banga
  • Maria
  • Tarkovsky (The Second Stop is Jupiter)
  • Mosaic
  • Nine
  • Seneca
  • Constantine's Dream
  • After The Gold Rush