R.E.M. Add 1987 Concert To 'Document' Reissue

The new edition of R.E.M.'s classic 1987 LP Document (to see release in September), is set to feature the digitally remastered original album, plus a second disc with a previously unreleased 1987 concert from the band's 'Work' tour.

R.E.M. on Friday night teased the release on its website:

"Details and special features on the Document anniversary re-issue coming here next week!"

Multiple online retailers in Europe and Japan — including Germany’s Amazon.de — show a new 2CD anniversary edition of Document set for release on September 10th and the American outlet, Amazon.com, giving a date of the 25th. Previous album reissues from R.E.M. have included a second bonus live disc (with Murmur and Reckoning), whilst others featured studio demos (Fables of the Reconstruction and Life's Rich Pageant).

Based on the tracklist for the bonus disc listed on Amazon, fans have suggested the live disc is the widely bootlegged September 14th, 1987, concert in Utrecht, Holland — minus the four cover songs played that night (Superman, Strange, Funtime and Harpers).

CD 1: Original album:

  • Finest Worksong
  • Welcome To The Occupation
  • Exhuming McCarthy
  • Disturbance At The Heron House
  • Strange
  • Its The End Of The World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine)
  • The One I Love
  • Fireplace
  • Lightnin’ Hopkins
  • King Of Birds
  • Oddfellows Local 151

CD 2: Previously unreleased 1987 concert:

  • Finest Worksong
  • These Days
  • Lightnin Hopkins
  • Welcome To The Occupation
  • Driver 8
  • Feeling Gravitys Pull
  • I Believe
  • The One I Love
  • Exhuming McCarthy
  • Wolves, Lower
  • Fall On Me
  • Just A Touch
  • Oddfellows Local 151
  • Little America
  • Its the End Of The World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine)
  • Begin The Begin
  • Disturbance At The Heron House
  • Moral Kiosk
  • Life And How To Live It
  • So. Central Rain