On The Radar 08/05/12

Tuesday's weekly selection of new tracks comprising this week's 'Staff Picks' from the Gigseen TV office ... New music featured from Stealing Sheep, Bloody Knives, King Charles, and Wintersleep.

Stealing Sheep - Shut Eye (selected by Grim) - Shut Eye is the first single to be taken from Stealing Sheep's forthcoming debut album released in August on Heavenly Recordings. The single is released on May 28th and comes backed with an exclusive track entitled We Like The Dark and will be available as a very limited 7" and digital download. The band will play be playing headline shows in June as well as numerous UK festivals like the Land Of Kings, Port Elliot, Standon Calling and Green Man.

King Charles - Lady Percy (selected by Kate) - Blending glam rock, psychedelic folk, and indie pop, London-based singer/songwriter Charles Costa, A.K.A. King Charles' debut album Loveblood was released yesterday. Lady Percy is the lead single from the record - a high energy, upbeat track with an exotic, tropical island steel drum vibe to it. It also reminds me of the "Lion King' - what more could you want? You won't resist a little dance hearing this one!

Bloody Knives - Undecided (selected by Grim) - Back on May 15th with a fresh LP called Blood via Saint Marie Records, Bloody Knives are an industrial shoegaze group from Austin, Texas consisting of Preston Maddox (bass, voice, keyboards, samples, programming) Jake McCown (Drums, noise, programming, art) and Jim Moon (sound manipulator). The band combines the sounds of heavy punk and industrial with blurry ambient electronics, shoegaze atmospherics, and 8-bit glitches and melodies.

Wintersleep - Nothing Is Anything (Without You) (selected by Matt) - With a name that fits a Nova Scotia-based band rather well, Wintersleep formed in 2001. The band graduated to the big time -- that is to say the major labels -- in 2006, when Wintersleep signed with Labwork, a subsidiary of EMI Canada. Two years after their album New Inheritors, the five-piece has announced plans to release their latest effort, Hello Hum. Nothing Is Anything (Without You), comes off the new album and if the rest of the album is in the same league as this track, we're in for a real treat.