BBC 6 Music Wins Station Of The Year At Sony's

BBC Radio 6 Music has been named UK Station of the Year at the 30th annual Sony Radio Academy Awards.

The ceremony took place last night at London's Grosvenor House Hotel. The judges commended the station for "a confidence across its schedule that not only reflects a real passion for music but also a firm understanding of the audience." The station also celebrated its tenth anniversary this year, narrowly escaped closure back in 2010.

The awards were hosted by Chris Evans from BBC Radio 2, who was also named Music Radio Personality of the Year, beating BBC Radio 6 Music's Lauren Laverne into silver position, with Christian O’Connell of Absolute Radio taking bronze.

Fearne Cotton of BBC Radio One won Best Music Programme, beating In:Demand Scotland on Bauer Radio Scotland and In Tune on BBC Radio 3. Other nominees in the category included Steve Lamacq for BBC Radio 6 Music and Michael Buble for Magic 105.4. Cotton's show was praised by judges for being "an excellent blend of the best new and live music, audience interaction and event coverage."

The legendary Jools Holland of BBC Radio 2 scooped the best Music Broadcaster of the Year award for "his enthusiasm, diverse knowledge, passion and sense of fun", pushing Sean Rowley of BBC Radio Kent into second place, and Mistajam of BBC Radio 1Xtra into third.

Other music radio related awards won on the night were for BBC Radio 2's Feeling Good – The Nina Simone Story Part 1, which was named Best Music Feature/Special/Documentary. Pete Townshend – Before I Get Old for BBC Radio 2 won silver and Killing Bono – A Life In The Shadow of Superstardom, for GMG Radio for Real Radio and Real Radio XS scooped bronze.

There was also an award for the Best Specialist Music Programme, which in turn, went to BBC Radio 2 and David Rodigan, with second place given to The Ronnie Wood Show for Absolute Radio and third place to Another Country with Ricky Ross on BBC Radio Scotland.