Tom Jones To Release New Album

Tom Jones is set to release his new Ethan Johns produced album, Spirit In The Room on May 21st.

As well as appearing as a coach on the new TV show, The Voice, the singer has also been busy preparing the follow-up to his 2010 release, Praise And Blame, which saw Jones re-visit the Gospel and R n'B influences of his youth. This time, he's back with Spirit In The Room.

Following in the same vein as his previous release, with the help of producer Ehtan Johns, he tackles a blend of traditional material with reworked classics by legendary artists including Richard Thompson, Leonard Cohen, Paul Simon and Paul McCartney.

Jones' band features some familiar faces with Richard Causon on vintage keyboards, piano & guitars, Warpaint's Stella Mozgawa on drums, and Ian Jennings and Sam Dixon on bass.

Spirit In The Room opens with a version of Leonard Cohen's Tower Of Song and ends with a new interpretation of Charlie Darwin by The Low Anthem. An extended version of the album will also feature versions of Just Dropped in, Lone Pilgrim and When The Deal Goes Down.

Tom Jones will release Spirit In The Room on May 21st. Track listing:

  • Tower Of Song (L. Cohen)
  • (I Want To) Come Home (P.McCartney)
  • Hit Or Miss (Odetta)
  • Love And Blessings (P. Simon)
  • Soul Of A Man (Blind Willie Johnson)
  • Bad As Me (T.Waits)
  • Dimming Of The Day (R.Thompson)
  • Travelling Shoes (V. Hall Ward)
  • All Blues Hail Mary (J. Henry)
  • Charlie Darwin (Low Anthem)